Complete Score for Night of the Living Dead Headed to Vinyl

The music for this horror classic is sure to keep you up at night.

By Jay Gervais

Waxwork Records is celebrating the 50th anniversary of George A. Romero’s Night of the Living Dead with the first official release of the film’s score on a double vinyl. You’ll want to keep your eyes peeled for when it drops at 12 PM EDT on Wednesday, as this is sure to be a hot seller for the label.

Waxwork Records worked together with the remaining members of Image Ten, the original production company that made the film, to restore and remaster all of the music featured in the movie. For this limited edition release, artist Robert Sammelin provided brand-new artwork for the covers.

In addition, there is an essay by author Daniel Kraus and liner notes by Night of the Living Dead’s sound engineer, Gary Streiner. Complimenting all of this is a booklet of never-before-seen production photos from the film.

The album comes pressed on two 180-gram vinyls and is shaded with a swanky “ghoul green” tint. Check out the full track listing and images of the product below.

Side A

1. Opening Drive
2. Walking to the Grave
3. Attacked
4. Flight From The Cemetery
5. Refuge
6. Trophy Room
7. The Clothesline
8. Dead Connection / Corpse On The Stairs / Ben Arrives
9. Panic
10. Blood From The Landing
11. Smashing The Headlight
12. Tire Iron Attack
13. “Don’t Look At It!”

Side B

14. Back Porch Bonfire
15. Searching The House
16. The Music Box
17. Boarding Up The House
18. Fireplace and Torch
19. Knocked Out
20. Lounge Chair Bonfire
21. The Cellar Door
22. Finding The Rifle
23. Ben Comforts Barbra
24. Cleaning Upstairs
25. New Arrivals
26. Attack at the Window
27. Grasping Hands
28. Ghouls Approach The House

Side C

29. Down To The Cellar
30. Up From The Cellar
31. Escape Plan
32. Tom and Judy
33. Unboarding
34. Molotov Cocktails
35. Escape From The House
36. Truck Escape
37. Truck On Fire
38. Feeding Frenzy
39. Light Out

Side D

40. Final Siege
41. Breakthrough
42. Helen’s Death
43. Ghouls Overrun
44. Cellar Nightmare
45. The Posse
46. Bonfire
47. End Credits
48. Bonus Night Of The Living Dead 1968 Radio Spot

This limited edition soundtrack vinyl release for Night of the Living Dead will retail at $40.00 plus the cost of shipping. If you’re interested in picking this one up, bookmark Waxwork Records’ official site and be there at 12 PM EDT.

In the meantime, you can preview some of the music on Waxwork Records’ SoundCloud.

About the Author

Jay Gervais

From small town to big city and back again, Jay was born and raised in Canada and has lived his whole life there. He’s always ready to cut down any misconceptions his American friends have of life in the great white north. He’s also no stranger to this kind of community, and has plenty of experience under his bed. He enjoys all kinds of horror entertainment, as long as it’s got the heart and soul to it. When he’s not doing something here, he can be found at his post at the night’s watch, or knee deep into his school studies.

Join the Discussion